## LOS RIOS COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT

## Special Board Meeting Minutes Wednesday, April 8, 2020

This special board meeting was held via Zoom Conference in accordance with Executive Orders N-25-20, N-29-20 and N-33-20 issued by California Governor Gavin Newsom on March 12, 17, and 19, 2020.

### 1. CALL TO ORDER

The special board meeting was called to order by Vice President Ortiz at 4:00 p.m.

#### Present:

Mr. Dustin Johnson, President

Ms. Deborah Ortiz, Vice President

Mr. Robert Jones

Mr. John Knight

Ms. Pamela Haynes

Ms. Tami Nelson

Dr. Brian King, Chancellor

### 2. ORAL COMMUNICATIONS

There were no oral communications.

### 3. CLOSED SESSION

A. Pursuant to Government Code Section 54957; Threat to Public Services or Facilities; Consultation with General Counsel.

# 4. ANNOUNCEMENT OF REPORTABLE ACTIONS TAKEN IN CLOSED SESSION ITEMS SHALL BE POSTED ON THE DISTRICT'S WEBPAGE.

In closed session, under Item 3.A, the Board of Trustees took the following actions:

1. A motion was made by Trustee Haynes, seconded by Trustee Knight, that the Board of Trustees appoint Standby Board Officers.

Roll Call Vote:

Aye: Haynes, Johnson, Jones, Knight, Nelson, Ortiz

No: None Absent: None Motion carried; 6:0 2. A motion was made by Trustee Nelson, seconded by Trustee Haynes, that the Board of Trustees approve the payment of the District's current stipend and benefits to Standby Board Officers while acting.

Roll Call Vote:

Aye: Haynes, Johnson, Jones, Knight, Nelson, Ortiz

No: None Absent: None Motion carried; 6:0

3. A motion was made by Trustee Haynes, seconded by Trustee Nelson, that the Board of Trustees appoint the Standby Board Officers listed below for each filled trustee position.

Roll Call Vote:

Aye: Haynes, Johnson, Jones, Knight, Nelson, Ortiz

No: None Absent: None Motion carried; 6:0

**AREA 1** - Trustee Dustin Johnson (President):

Standby Board Officer Number 1: **David Inniss**Standby Board Officer Number 2: **Maheen Ahmed** 

AREA 6 - Trustee Deborah Ortiz (Vice President):

Standby Board Officer Number 1: **Bruce Pomer** Standby Board Officer Number 2: **Catherine Lopez** 

AREA 2 - Trustee Robert Jones:

Standby Board Officer Number 1: David Wagner

**AREA 3** - Trustee John Knight:

Standby Board Officer Number 1: **Christa Campbell** Standby Board Officer Number 2: **Todd White** 

AREA 5 - Trustee Pam Haynes:

Standby Board Officer Number 1: **Rita Gallardo Good** Standby Board Officer Number 2: **Tracy Thomas** 

AREA 7 - Trustee Tami Nelson:

Standby Board Officer Number 1: **Debra Corbett** Standby Board Officer Number 2: **Joel Broussard** 

#### 4. ADJOURNMENT

The meeting was adjourned at 5:05 p.m.

**BRIAN KING** 

Brian Zing

Chancellor and Secretary to the Board of Trustees

Minutes approved by the Board of Trustees: May 13, 2020