LOS RIOS COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT

Special Board Meeting Minutes Tuesday, August 3, 2021

This special board meeting was held via Zoom Conference in accordance with Executive Orders N-25-20, N-29-20 and N-33-20 issued by California Governor Gavin Newsom on March 12, 17, and 19, 2020.

1. CALL TO ORDER

The special board meeting was called to order by President Ortiz at 4:00 p.m.

Present:

Ms. Deborah Ortiz, President

Ms. Tami Nelson, Vice President

Mr. John Knight

Mr. Dustin Johnson

Mr. Robert Jones

Ms. Pamela Haynes

Ms. Kelly Wilkerson

Jenn Galinato, Student Trustee

Dr. Brian King, Chancellor

2. ORAL COMMUNICATIONS

President Ortiz asked General Counsel Jake Knapp to provide an overview of the Brown Act parameters for this Special Board meeting, including confirmation that the Special Board meeting agenda was posted well in advance of the legal requirement.

Chancellor King introduced public health care expert Dr. Glennah Trochet, who provided an overview of the current state of COVID-19, the Delta Variant, and the vaccines.

The following individuals addressed the Board of Trustees about its consideration of implementing a Covid vaccine requirement for students and employees. Due to the high volume of public comment requests, and to ensure that the Board had an opportunity to conduct the public's business, after the first 45 minutes of public comment speakers were limited to two minutes each and an end-time of 6pm was established for public comment on the item.

- 1. Gregory Beyrer
- 2. Patrick McDonald
- 3. Kenneth Fitzpatrick
- 4. David Lockwood

- Matthew Battershell
- 6. Theresa Aldredge
- 7. Allyson Smith
- 8. Kaylen Kristine

- 9. Maria Lopez
- 10. Martha Goff
- 11. Mischelynn Scarlatelli
- 12. Afton
- 13. John Coctoasten
- 14. Veronica Sullivan
- 15. David B.
- 16. Teresa Lopez
- 17. Dawn Berry
- 18. Stephanie Smitherman
- 19. Trajan Robinson
- 20. Tony Cartright
- 21. Rob G.
- 22. Crystal Baham
- 23. Nicole Williams
- 24. Nicole Q.
- 25. Andrea Cedillo

- 26. Nicole Pearson
- 27. Mimi Ortiz
- 28. Joanna Solis
- 29. Krishna Murphy
- 30. Candice Rios
- 31. Rebecca Arnfeld
- 32. Keith Ellis
- 33. Darla Cooley
- 34. Tony Boone
- 35. Marie Smith
- 36. Linda Myers Russell
- 37. Sean Casey
- 38. Courtney Taylor
- 39. Lillian Salazar
- 40. Akira Bua
- 41. Sabrina Guidi
- 42. Pam Ragland

3. SPECIAL BOARD ACTION

A. <u>Resolution No. 2021-18</u>: <u>Directing the Chancellor to Develop and Implement a Covid Vaccine Requirement to Increase Vaccination Rates for Students, Faculty, and Staff</u>

A motion was made by Trustee Johnson, seconded by Trustee Jones, that the Board of Trustees approve Resolution 2021-18, as amended by the Trustees, directing the Chancellor to develop and implement a COVID-19 vaccine requirement to increase vaccination rates for students, faculty, and staff.

Roll Call Vote:

Aye: Haynes, Jones, Knight, Johnson, Ortiz, Wilkerson

No: Nelson Absent: None

Student Advisory Vote: Aye

Motion carried; 6:1

4. ADJOURNMENT

President Ortiz adjourned the meeting 8:14 p.m.

Briss King

BRIAN KING

Chancellor and Secretary to the Board of Trustees

Minutes approved by the Board of Trustees: September 8, 2021